5th Adrienne Clarkson Prize for Global Citizenship

The 5th Adrienne Clarkson Prize for Global Citizenship will be awarded to The Honourable Murray Sinclair. Join us in celebrating and honouring this remarkable Indigenous activist.

Senator Sinclair served the justice system in Manitoba for over 25 years. He was the first Indigenous judge appointed in Manitoba and Canada’s second. The senator also served as the chief commissioner of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission, participating in hundreds of hearings across Canada, giving survivors the long-overdue opportunity to tell their stories.

“Murray Sinclair’s life and work are an outstanding example of what it means to be a human being and to contribute to the place in which you live. In a sense, the word citizenship doesn’t even begin to encompass what his life stands for. He has marked and changed our society and as we all know, he continues to do so. He has helped us to understand, to learn and to hope,” The Rt. Honourable Adrienne Clarkson said. 

The 5th Adrienne Clarkson Prize for Global Citizenship will feature Madame Clarkson and Senator Sinclair in conversation, and a special performance by Indigenous director, composer, singer-songwriter, and activist Elisapie.

The Adrienne Clarkson Prize for Global Citizenship is awarded annually to a leader whose life work has demonstrated a steadfast commitment to the ideals of belonging and inclusion. Through words, actions and results, recipients encourage thought, dialogue, approaches, and strategies that strive to remove barriers, change attitudes, and reinforce the principles of tolerance and respect.

Past Adrienne Clarkson Prize recipients: Lieutenant-General (ret) The Honourable Roméo A. Dallaire, Margaret Atwood, Ai Weiwei, and His Highness the Aga Khan.

Programming for this session will be in English with French subtitles.